SB20 Ireland hosts Eastern Championship in 30 knots

Over the weekend the Royal St. George Yacht Club together with SB20 Ireland hosted the Eastern Championship on Dublin bay, the last competition before the SB20 European Championship 2018. The fleet consisted of 21 Irish teams and one Russian VIS Sailing team  of Timur Sabirzyanov, Alexander Mikhailov and Artem Basalkin on the helm.



Two racing days had been planned, but on Day 1 quite extreme weather conditions opened the Championship with wind starting at 20 knots/gusts to 25+ for the first rounding! The 24-strong fleet was flying over Dublin Bay to the excitement of most of the participants. Second rounding already witnessed the wind increased to 25 knots with gusts to 30+ and the turn in tide with the wind against it has made the sea more disturbed. Top boats were racing all the way but mid fleet struggled,” – says Barry O’Neill, Race Officer for the event. – “It was too windy and rough to call the 2nd race, so we got back to the harbour”. 

TOP 5 after 1 race on Day 1:

1st – Broomsticks / Marty O’Leary
2nd – VIS Sailing Team / Artem Basalkin
3rd – Binn Eadair Racing / Cillian Dickson
4th – Capre Diem / Colin Galavan
5th – Black / James Gorman

Day one results brought the Russians from VIS Sailing team to 2nd place overall after claiming the top speed of 20,6 knots on the last downwind!



On the second day, the weather allowed to call four races in conditions of shifty light breeze between 4 and 10 knots, mainly around 5 to 7, that didn’t make it easy for anyone. It was the Russians who took the first place winning three races out of four.


1st Place Winners and 2018 Eastern Champions: VIS Sailing team (from right to left) – Alekandr Mikhailov, Timur Sabirzianov, Artem Basalkin with the Rear Commodore Peter Bowring



Congrats to all winners of this pre-Europeans event: 

1st Place Winners – VIS Sailing team (Artem Basalkin, Alekandr Mikhailov, Timur Sabirzianov)

2nd Place Winners – Broomsticks (Marty O’Leary, Rachel Willimason, Tedz Byrne, Brian Fenlon)

3rd Place Winners – Team Ridgeway (Steven Kane, Hammy Baker, Emmet Ryan)


Special prizes:

Silver Prize Winners – Sacrebleu – Owen Laverty, Adam Winkelman, Trevor Hall / Kevin Johnson

2nd in the Silver Fleet – Animal Origami – Chris Chapman


Overall results, amended after arbitration hearings:




“We were very pleased with the level and the quality of regatta organization here in Dun Laoghaire, the Club is beautiful and the Irish hospitality is amazing. We definitely recommend all SB20 sailors to race here. Looking forward to the Europeans,” – said happy Timur Sabirzyanov after the event.


The Irish SB20 Association thanked Michael O’Connor for the efforts in setting up and running on a great event at the Royal St. George Yacht Club.

Next event at Dun Laoghaire and your chance to test the Irish waters is coming in about 10 days with the SB20 European Championship held by Royal Irish Yacht Club.

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *