GBR: Wharram, Williamson, Wright are 2012 Inland Champions supported by Bolle at Rutland Sailing Club

GBR: Wharram, Williamson, Wright are 2012 Inland Champions supported by Bolle at Rutland Sailing Club

The boys from Hull, Yorkshire, Richard Wharram, Ben Williamson and Nick Wright, won the 2012 Inland Championship, well deserved after loyally supporting the Rutland Sailing Club event for 5 years. But they did have to survive some ribbing from the rest of the fleet, for being the only crew not to attend the Fleet dinner and drinks on the very friendly and fun Saturday night. A mock set of results were published showing heavy penalties for anti-social behaviour!

Boats came from as far as Cornwall and Scotland, plus newcomers from Southwold and The Hamble. Friday of the Easter weekend brought chilly force 3-4 breezes and the challenge to identify the channel of wind down the Water in order to keep planing . The Hull boys in Moon Monkey showed their skill with two 1sts and a 2nd. That day proved to a number of crews that sail-handling skills had rusted over winter!

David Atkinson in Kit Off (with M Farmer and Mikey Matthews) won the last race that day, and for the next 2 days he competed with his own Dragon crewman(!) John Outhwaite in Baloo (with Doug Paton and Carl Outhwaite) to displace the Hull boys. In force 2-3 winds it was another challenge for everyone: this time to find the pressure under the grey cloudy sky.

Throughout the weekend there was close racing and frequent changes in position, these becoming more significant with the last 4 races. In these the top-3 also carded mid-fleet results together with a win each, though Ross Lang (with Ally Paton and Dan Challis) took the last race of the Inland Championship. But the best overall was Moon Monkey with the Hull boys.

The Ultimate Race of the weekend was a quick, one-lap time trial, starting at any point within a time window. Those who went late in the window took advantage of the break in the clouds which gave them an exhilarating ride down. The popular Scottish winner by 18 seconds was Craig Latimer in The Wildebeest, with crew Ross Watson and Gillian Semple.

The Champions received the Inland Trophy together with sunglasses from SB3 Class sponsors Bolle.

Richard Triffitt

[download id=”11″]
[download id=”12″]

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *