GBR: 2012 SB20 Scottish Championships supported by Bolle at Brewin Dolphin Scottish Series

Report by Doug Paton

For the 2012 Scottish Championships supported by Bolle, the SB20 class decided to hold its most northern UK event at the annual Brewin Dolphin Scottish Series on Loch Fyne. This event – organised by Clyde Cruising Club – has many classes including IRC race boats, cruiser/racers and one-design classes. In 2012 the SB20 class elected to hold its championships on the Saturday/Sunday/Monday of this event to encourage the further travelled teams.

In total, 10 teams entered with boats from as far afield as Ireland and Yorkshire. The fleet was competitive and included the current Irish National Champions, Inland Champions as well as past and present Scottish Winners.

The teams began to arrive on Friday throughout the day and were launched by the crane courtesy of Macleod Construction of Lochgilphead and Caledonian MacBrayne Ferries. The sun was shining all day, which made rigging and launching easy. All the teams retired to the Portavadie Marina Bar and Accommodation to rest before the first days racing.

The first day kicked off with fairly strong breeze and the first race was won by Duncan/Moran in Sharkbait followed by John Bourke’s Osvavan with Huttons finishing third. The second race was won by Huttons with Sharkbait Second and Doug Paton’s FCNK rounding off the top 3. The third race was won by Sharkbait again with John Outhwaites Baloo – Being Helmed by Mikey Matthews – second and Huttons third.

Sharkbait made best use of the strong, shifty Loch Fyne conditions to lead after the first day. After racing, the first social was held in Portavadie Marina Bar with a class meal booked in the Lodge Restaurant.

The second day started with a similarly strong Easterly direction breeze. Sharkbait continued their dominance with a first place in every race with Baloo, Huttons and Lennox/Simpson/Grant’s Ten Bob Slider getting their share of the remaining top 3 positions.

After racing, the SB20 class made their way across to East Loch Tarbert – the main regatta centre – for a dinner and to go to a few bars around the harbour. A rib service was provided courtesy of the guys from Kit-Off.

With not a breath of wind, no racing was held on Monday and the race officer decided to abandon racing around mid-day. The boats were returned to their trailers and the visitor de-rigged their boats quickly with encouragement provided by the Scottish Midge.

The Sharkbait team from Ireland finished the regatta with all 1st places apart from a 2nd which became their discard. Ben Duncan, Ric Morris and Brian Moran therefore become 2012 Scottish Champions and took home the Lynx Sports Trophy. They also received the Sail Scotland trophy – best performance of a non-Scottish yacht.

All teams agreed that it was a fantastic event and they vowed to be back next year. Many thanks has to go to the Clyde Cruising Club race officer who ran an impeccable regatta well suited to the SB20 class’s needs.

Sail No Yacht’s Name Owner Points
1. NZL3287 Sharkbait Ben Duncan/Brian Moran 5.00
2. GBR3510 Hutton’s Ben Williamson 11.00
3. GBR3057 Baloo John Outhwaite 14.00
4. 3325 Osvavan John Bourke 25.00
5. GBR3074 FCNK Doug Paton 25.00
6. GBR3038 Ten Bob Slider Lennox/Simpson/MacKay 26.00
7. GBR3044 Kit Off Dave Atkinson 27.00
8. GBR3081 Black Beards Delight Ross Lang 36.00
9. GBR3235 Its Showtime Michael Parkington 39.00
10. GBR3516 The Wildebeest III Craig Latimer 49.00

Special thanks to:

Bolle – SB20 Class Association Sponsor
Clyde Cruising Club – Organising Club
Brewin Dolphin – Title Event Sponsor
Portavadie Marina – Accommodation/Free Berthing
Macleods Construction – Crane
Caledonian MacBrayne – Ferry


Add your comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *